Hi all

Hi all,

As someone who has always meant to get myself a blog, and have on a couple of occassions managed to do so, only to let these attempts fall to the wayside of apathy, I have decided to make an early New years resolution to start and maintain this blog to talk about my feelings, what I am doing, etc.  I will try not to be too boring, and tell me if I become so!

Anyway, with that sorted out, let me briefly (keeping personal details out of it if possible) introduce myself – my name is Scott (the username has the clue), live in the West Ridings of Yorkshire (although oroginally hail from that most beautiful Garden of England, Kent); am an avid sports fanatic (watching, not participating!), following Liverpool football club, kent county cricket club, bath rugby union football club through the year, as well an fan of cycling (both road and track mainly), Formula 1, and wll watch and talk about just about most sports (main exception being the US sports, basket ball especially, although I am known to watch the odd superbowl or Winter Olympics Ice Hockey final once a year/every 4).  You’ll therefore see my comment on my various sporting interests through the year, and will always try to bring at least some objectivity into these bogs, on top of my, often vtriolic, commentary.

I would describe myself  as a gamer, with a PC for some of my gaming needs (mainly old school RTSes and Minecraft), nd a PS3 for the majority of my gaming needs, one who is not always playing the latest and greatest FPS (in fact very rarely do I play FPses, and with the exception of Borderlands co-op as it was a lot more like a RPG, I NEVER play multiplayer online with a FPS). The problem with this is I probably don’t play as much as I need to, and only really got back into gaming earlier this year so am trying to ctach up the last 3/4 years whilst staying current!   Favourite games not on the current gen of consoles include the wonderfully RPG-like Deus Ex, Freespace 2, the original Rainbow Six for their strategical planning/execution, Age of Empires 2, maybe the original Red Faction and Civilzation 3.  As for the current gen, favourites include AC2/AC:B, Ratchet and Clank series (especially Crack of Time), Uncharted 1 (I still have Uncharted 2 staring at me waiting for me to unwrap it!), Minecraft.

I also like to spend time regularly watching films (from across the ages of genres, palthough am not a fan usually of horror), and have a good knowledge (I like to think) of classic British comedy, both radio and tv, with a particular fondness for Oxbridge comedians; althoguh I do enjoy the odd US comedy (seinfeld, Frasier, Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother and most of the “adult” animations like southpark/family guy); also enjoy watching good quality documentaries, and often the odd sci-fi (mainly firefly, man that show was awesome) and Life on Mars/Ashes to Ashes (not anything else similar, just those 2)

As for music, well I’ve been told my tastes are “eclectic” and “wide-ranging”, and pretty much encompass a lot of what is on the extremes of music, with very little in the mainstream middle; so I enjoy folk music, classical, jazz, prog rock, some modern indie/prog (mainly Mars Volta, Muse and, oddly Placebo), Classic Rock (up to about the split of the Smiths in late 80s), and classic “singer-songwriter” (think David Bowie, Bob Dylan, Johnny Cassh).  Will enjoy good 80s electronica (think Human League/pet shop boys/kraftwerk style), and early punk and some heavy metal.  Definite nos – rap, hip hop, RnB, modern electornic, dance, pop

As you may have noticed by the length of this post, I do like talking, about almost anything as long as its an intelligent conversation (so niothing about dreary stuff like reality tv/celebrity culture), and I’ll endeavour to be more concise and less flappy in the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

